Where we last left off, it was my anniversary! The boyfriend and I had a nice Friday night out at Outback. I don’t know if you’ve ever been to Outback, but delicious doesn’t even come close to describing how tasty this place is. From the Bloomin’ Onion to the Caesar salad to the filet mignon and loaded baked potato… my mouth is watering as I type this, good lord. It’s fantastic! But as anyone with the reading comprehension of a six year old can tell, it’s a little rough on the diet.

You may have noticed my previous and mostly futile attempts at losing weight and getting in shape over the past few months. I’ve really been trying to step it up recently in the diet and exercise department with a few friends. Our first project was to read the infamous Skinny Bitch. (It was very Clueless… the whole time I thought about the scene where they alternate between Cindy Crawfords ‘Aerobicise’ and ‘Buns of Steel’ and read one non-school book a week. “Mine is Fit Or Fat.” “Mine is Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus. You are welcome for that interlude.)

While Skinny Bitch is a bit of pro-vegan terrorism — and yes, I had to skip over the chapters that talk about animal cruelty, because as much as I enjoy eating meat, I have such a weakness for animals — it did show me I could change some things, I need to change some things, and I didn’t have to uproot or overturn my whole diet to do it. Namely, I changed my yogurt. The one I was eating was yummy but full of aspartame, and while I did enjoy poking fun at my friends for my love of aspartame, I could kick that habit easily. Now I’m eating Chobani Non-fat Blueberry Greek Yogurt and I’m obsessed. Seriously, if I could, I’d eat it three meals a day. I was a little weirded out by Greek yogurt at first because of the difference in texture, but after a few tries, I was hooked.

The other thing I’m loving are Steamfresh Singles for veggies. It is a great, fast, easy way to get in my helpings of peas and corn. And I deduced a great recipe for poor college kids (or the poor kids who have graduated college but pretend they haven’t). Take your favorite Ramen flavor (I’ve been using Beef because it’s what my roommate had, and I’m totally hooked), cook the noodles and drain out the water, then add only half of the seasoning packet (because apparently it is death and so much sodium you’ll be salty in places you didn’t know existed) and then add a packet of peas! I am about to fix mine right now for lunch, and I kind of can’t wait.

I get really excited about food. It’s kind of sad.

I’m doing push ups for my workout routine, and I had lost three and a half pounds before Outback week, but I think my weight loss from the shift in my diet is starting to slow, so I’m going to have to hit the gym soon. My goal is to mimic the walking I was doing in college and get about a mile a day done. Any health tips you swear by? Or impressions of Skinny Bitch? Or favorite Clueless quotes? Let me know!